Deck the Halls for FREE in London

Christmas is just around the corner and what better place to celebrate this wonderful holiday than in London! It is a little strange for my American self because back in the states we do not truly deck the halls until Thanksgiving passes. Here in England, Thanksgiving is not celebrated therefore once Halloween is done and over with, Christmas comes to you in full force. The people of England know how to make their city as festive as possible and they allow individuals to enjoy it with several free events.

Lighting of Oxford Street

Regent Street

Winter Wonderland

Winter in Southbank Centre

Listed above are only a couple of free attractions that London has to offer for a family fun Christmas experience! If you love looking at christmas lights (fairy lights) and decked out christmas trees, I would highly recommend hopping on the tube or taking a bus down to the streets that have annual lighting ceremonies. The streets usually have concerts, entertainment, and lots of christmas lights to look up at. It is absolutely free to do and a great way to spend a night out with friends and family.

IMG_3954

Regent Street Christmas Lights

Another amazing event to go to if you are in London during the months of December and January is Winter Wonderland! It is London’s biggest christmas fair located In Hyde Park. It opens November 20th until January 3rd and is entirely free to get into. You will have to pay to go on any rides and buy food/drinks, but if you just want to walk around the park and people watch you are more than welcome to! This will be my first year in attendance and am so excited to see what the hype is all about! I have heard incredible things about this event so I will blog about it once I experience it myself!

I hope you all have a great holiday and please comment if you attend any of these events to let me know how they went!

4 thoughts on “Deck the Halls for FREE in London

  1. Nicole says:

    I love how the christmas lights are up on so many streets. Really gets me into the holiday spirit. I knew about Winter Wonderland and am super excited to go but I’m glad you also mentioned Winter in Southbank Center. I have people visiting in the next few weeks and this will be great to do with them.

    Like

  2. testtubed says:

    I know that you know that I enjoy decking them halls, so this post is something I needed to read further on. I missed the Oxford and Regent Street lights both by an hour both times so I’m glad you have some other options listed there. Winter Wonderland looks amazing and I am also super excited to check it out!

    Katie

    Like

  3. aliboettlin says:

    Thank you for this post, it was so helpful! Christmas lights and festivities are my favorite and I have found that London goes above and beyond when it comes to decking the halls. The links were very helpful, I did not know that Southbank also turned into a winter wonderland so I was able to read more! A few of us checked it out and it was a lot of fun, I would recommend it! The cool thing about these places is that we could all go as a group because they are so big!

    Like

  4. Lexi says:

    Anna, I think its such a great idea to write a post about Christmas in London, there really is so much to do! I have yet to go to Regent street but it looks really beautiful, I see you’ve already been, how was it? Also did you know the winter wonderland in Hyde Park is actually a German festival? Do you think things might be a bit different since it technically isn’t British?

    Like

Leave a comment