Sikh Temple

My class went to a Sikh Temple the other day out in zone 5 and it was an interesting educational experience. I have always heard about Temples and learned about them in class but have never actually been inside one. This trip was a chance for me to expand my cultural side and experience an unfamiliar lifestyle.

As we entered the Temple, we were told to remove our shoes and wrap a head scarf around our head to cover our hair. We met with a “tour guide” who showed us around the Temple and taught us the basics of the religion. I soon learned that they cover their hair because it is considered a gift from God, and the three pillars of Sikhism include keeping God in mind at all times, earn an honest living, and care for others. An hour later we went down to the cafeteria area and were given a vegetarian meal with some tea. Although I am not fond of the idea of experimenting with new foods, i tried what they gave us and it surprisingly wasn’t too bad!

All in all it was a cool experience and I am glad I had the chance to go. This is something I would have never done on my own so I am glad I did it!

(*required post for class)

Leave a comment